Decorations

This was my speciality! I used to making a living from making things look pretty, this was the part of the prep process I was most looking forward to.

I had Pintrest boards covering all aspect of the decor, drawing ideas from rustic to urban modern styles, finding a way to blend them and create the dream wedding Ryan and I were after.

 Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 13.23.04 Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 13.22.53

   Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 13.22.43 Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 13.22.34

 Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 13.22.02  Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 15.04.56

I quickly became obsessed with grey, copper and geometric designs, finding ways to incorporate them into every aspect of the wedding.

Soon after I got the original idea I was browsing a store after work that was having a closing down sale selling geometric copper candle holders for a few pounds each I couldn’t help but buy 12 in case! It was the start of the decor plan, on from there came the multi functional succulent centre pieces/ favours.

I love love loved the outside inside draped fabric look. And would of loved to have had the reception in a glasshouse. However costs and locations quickly ruined that idea.

As I couldn’t have the glasshouse I looked into alternatives, which lead us to the glasshouses at the Botanics which would allow us pictures of glasshouses without the reception costing us an arm and a leg. I picked a marquee to allow a blank canvas and draped fabrics. I knew I wanted foliage and lights in the ceiling but that was all just a matter of talking Ryan into letting me spend that much on the lights! He suggested normal fairy lights but I hated the look of them, I loved the Festoon lights where it had bare bulbs and black wires to add to the contrast and modern feel. To continue the draped feel I wanted draped fabric on the tables to contact the table cloths. I loved the look of muslin the way it was airy and soft and folded, however the table cloths were also such a corse fabric I didn’t want the rustic feel. Silk, satin or chiffon were the obvious choices but again these were to costly. Finding the perfect colour was virtually impossible, I looked high and low in every fabric shop to find the right one. Eventually I found some sateen finish fabric in a salmony dusky pink colour.

Each table had a grey/lilac table cloth, with pink centre fabric, a copper candle holder, black/grey Bolsius pillar candle, and 8 different succulents in different ramekins.

The cake stand was made up of a selection candle holders and a lamp shade. The topper was custom made pop vinyls to look like Ryan and I for the wedding. I made them myself out of 4 pop vinyls, removing the heads of them and switching them over. I had to ask my step dad to paint my dress as it was originally yellow!

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 19.52.12

Here are a few behind the scenes pics of the venue set up. (excuse my bossy hands on hips bride look!)



Suppliers:

Marquee, chairs, lights, vines: Something Borrowed Event Hire

Table cloths: Northfields

Pink Fabric: Janet Riley Fabrics

Ramekins: Charity Shops locally

Succulents: Garden Centres locally

Slates: Solo Park LTD

Copper Baskets: John Lewis – Coastal Cote De Provence Copper ‘Fisherman’s’ Fruit Basket

Photo frame: John Lewis – Umbra Prisma Photo Frame, 5 x 7″ (13 x 18cm), Copper Finish

Pen: John Lewis – kikki.K Metal Rollerball Pen, Copper

Plates: Ebay – Foglish Electrical srm.aem

Napkins: Not On The High Street – Rose Gold Spotty Foil Party Napkins by POSTBOX PARTY

Copper Candle holders centre pieces: Local shop (since closed down)

Bolsius Candles: Ebay

Card Box: Home Sense

Guest Book: Kate Spade

Cake Stand: Ebay & Dunelm

Pop Vinyls: Ebay & Forbidden Planet

Cake Forms, Copper thread, paper: Hobby Craft

Invites: Moo

Theres probably more but I cannot think of them off the top of my head!

 

Leave a Reply

